Last Used: Magic 2015
Introduced: Ravnica: City of Guilds
Category for Convoke
Gather Courage RAV

An example of an Instant with "Convoke"

Convoke is a keyword ability.


It is the ability to lower the casting cost of a spell by tapping creatures. When a creature's controller taps it to utilize a spells convoke ability, the spell's Mana Cost is reduced by one mana of whatever color the tapped creature is or by one generic mana. You cannot tap your opponent's creatures with this mechanic.

This ability is useful for surprising your opponent when it appears that you don't have any mana left. It is also useful for a blitzkrieg tactic of rushing the opponent by force projecting your lower cost creatures for mana. It must also be used wisely, use only low mana creatures for activation so you can use its effect on a stronger more expensive creature, also don't tap too many of your creatures. This will leave you open and your opponent will outnumber your defences on their turn. Cards like Stasis Cell and Dehydration will keep it tapped.

Comprehensive Rules

702.50. Convoke

  • 702.50a Convoke is a static ability that functions while the spell with convoke is on the stack. “Convoke” means “For each colored mana in this spell’s total cost, you may tap an untapped creature of that color you control rather than pay that mana. For each generic mana in this spell’s total cost, you may tap an untapped creature you control rather than pay that mana.” The convoke ability isn’t an additional or alternative cost and applies only after the total cost of the spell with convoke is determined.
    • Example: Heartless Summoning says, in part, “Creature spells you cast cost {2} less to cast.” You control Heartless Summoning and cast Siege Wurm, a spell with convoke that costs {5}{G}{G}. The total cost to cast Siege Wurm is {3}{G}{G}. After activating mana abilities, you pay that total cost. You may tap up to two green creatures and up to three creatures of any color to pay that cost, and the remainder is paid with mana.
  • 702.50b Multiple instances of convoke on the same spell are redundant.