Fandom

Magic: The Gathering

Cruel Ultimatum

6,386pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Cruel Ultimatum
Cruel Ultimatum ALA
Printings/Rarity:
Shards of Alara Rare 
Cost: Mana UMana UMana BMana BMana BMana RMana R
CMC: 7
Card Type: Sorcery
Oracle Text: Target opponent sacrifices a creature, discards three cards, then loses 5 life. You return a creature card from your graveyard to your hand, draw three cards, then gain 5 life.
Flavor Text: There is always a greater power.
Rulings
10/1/2008 Cruel Ultimatum’s only target is an opponent. You don’t choose which creature card in your graveyard you’ll return to your hand until Cruel Ultimatum resolves.
10/1/2008 All of these actions are performed sequentially, in the order listed. Earlier actions may affect how you perform later actions. (For example, if the opponent sacrifices a creature that he or she controls but you own, it will end up in your graveyard. When Cruel Ultimatum lets you return a creature card from your graveyard to your hand, you can choose that one.)
10/1/2008 If, as Cruel Ultimatum begins to resolve, your opponent’s life total is 5 or less and you have two or fewer cards in your library, the game will result in a draw. Your opponent’s life total will drop to 0 or less, but Cruel Ultimatum must finish resolving completely before state-based actions are checked. You’ll then be forced to draw three cards and fail to draw one. When state-based actions are finally checked, you and your opponent will both lose the game at the same time, which means the game is a draw.

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki