Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
|This article is a Article Stub that is short and needs improvement. . |
You can help Magic: The Gathering Wiki by expanding it.
Devour is a keyword ability.
It is an ability which uses creatures to gain power on another creature. In other words, when a creature with devour comes into play, if the person who casted it wants to, they can sacrifice any number of creatures. Then the creature with devour comes into play with as many +1/+1 counters on it as were creatures sacrificed.
All devour creatures say "Devour 1" or "Devour 2," etc. When a creature such as Thorn-Thrash Viashino comes into play, something different happens. Thorn-Thrash Viashino has "Devour 2," which means that instead of just putting one +1/+1 counter on the creature for each creature sacrificed, you put two +1/+1 counters on the creature - double taking! And so on. If the creature has Devour 3, then you put three +1/+1 counters on your creature for each creature devoured.
- 702.81a Devour is a static ability. “Devour N” means “As this object enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it for each creature sacrificed this way.”
- 702.81b Some objects have abilities that refer to the number of creatures the permanent devoured. “It devoured” means “sacrificed as a result of its devour ability as it entered the battlefield.”