Discard is an evergreen keyword action.


It is the act of putting it from your hand into your graveyard.

There are two reasons why a player should discard a card. One is at the end of his or her turn. During the discard phase each player reduces their hand to seven cards if they have more in hand. Otherwise, you discard a card if a card tells you to.

If you discard a card with the madness ability you may pay its madness cost to play it instead.

It is most commonly found on Black cards.

Comprehensive Rules

701.7. Discard

  • 701.7a To discard a card, move it from its owner’s hand to that player’s graveyard.
  • 701.7b By default, effects that cause a player to discard a card allow the affected player to choose which card to discard. Some effects, however, require a random discard or allow another player to choose which card is discarded.
  • 701.7c If a card is discarded, but an effect causes it to be put into a hidden zone instead of into its owner’s graveyard without being revealed, all values of that card’s characteristics are considered to be undefined. If a card is discarded this way to pay a cost that specifies a characteristic about the discarded card, that cost payment is illegal; the game returns to the moment before the cost was paid (see rule 717, “Handling Illegal Actions”).
Keyword Actions
Evergreen ActivateAttachCastCounterDestroyDiscard
Other AbandonBolsterClashDetainFatesealInvestigate
Set in MotionSupportTransformVote

Ad blocker interference detected!

Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.