Fandom

Magic: The Gathering

Echo

6,386pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Echo

Uktabi Drake PLC

Last Used: Eternal Masters
Introduced: Urza's Saga
Category for Echo

Echo is a keyword ability.

Details

It is a triggered ability that requires the affected permanent's controller to pay its echo cost at the beginning of the player's next upkeep after he or she gains control of it, or sacrifice it.

History

Echo is a mechanic introduced in Urza's block that got revisited in Time Spiral block. Originally, cards with echo needed to have their mana cost paid. However, when the Time Spiral Block was released, echo's rules got revised so that each card with echo would have an echo cost associated with it, rather than just the card's mana cost. This did not have an immediate impact until Planar Chaos was released, when cards would have differing echo costs, such as Uktabi Drake. Previous cards with echo received errata to match this rule so that their echo costs matched their mana costs.

Example

Abby casts an Uktabi Drake. When it becomes her next turn, she will have to pay Mana 1Mana GMana G, or sacrifice the Uktabi Drake.

Comprehensive Rules

702.29. Echo

  • 702.29a. Echo is a triggered ability. "Echo [cost]" means "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this permanent came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep, sacrifice it unless you pay [cost]."
  • 702.29b. Urza block cards with the echo ability were printed without an echo cost. These cards have been given errata in the Oracle card reference; each one now has an echo cost equal to its mana cost.

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki