Equip is a keyword ability found on artifacts with the subtype "equipment". By paying the equip cost, you can attach the artifact to a creature, who is referred to in the text as the "equipped creature". Equipping is played as a sorcery. When an equipped creature leaves play, unlike local enchantments, the equipment remains in play.
- 502.33. Equip
- 502.33a Equip is an activated ability of artifact Equipment cards. “Equip [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this Equipment to target creature you control. Play this ability only any time you could play a sorcery.”
- 502.33b For more information about Equipment, see rule 212.2, “Artifacts.”
- 502.33c If an artifact has multiple instances of equip, any of its equip abilities may be used.