Magic: The Gathering


6,385pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Add New Page Talk2
Last Used: [[]]
Introduced: [[]]
Category for Flanking
Benalish Cavalry TSP

Benalish Cavalry

Flanking is a keyword ability.


It is a triggered ability that means when a creature without flanking blocks a creature with flanking, the blocking creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn.


Amy is attacking Noel with a Benalish Cavalry and Noel controls a Benalish Cavalry and a Canyon Minotaur. If Noel blocks with the Canyon Minotaur, flanking will trigger and shrink the Canyon Minotaur to a 2/2 until end of turn. However, if Noel were to block with the Benalish Cavalry, flanking wouldn't trigger, as the blocking Benalish Cavalry also has flanking.

Comprehensive Rules

702.24. Flanking

  • 702.24a. Flanking is a triggered ability that triggers during the declare blockers step. "Flanking" means "Whenever this creature becomes blocked by a creature without flanking, the blocking creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn."
  • 702.24b. If a creature has multiple instances of flanking, each triggers separately.

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki