Fandom

Magic: The Gathering

Meddling Mage

6,386pages on
this wiki
Add New Page
Talk0 Share

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.

Meddling Mage
Meddling Mage PLS
Printings/Rarity:
Planeshift Rare Alara Reborn Rare 
Cost: Mana WMana U
CMC: 2
Card Type: CreatureHuman Wizard
Power/Toughness: 2/2
Oracle Text: As Meddling Mage enters the battlefield, name a nonland card.

The named card can't be cast.

Flavor Text: Planeshift Common : "Meddling mages chant so loudly that no one can get a spell in edgewise."

Alara Reborn Common : "This violent wasteland is an indictment of its people. These cowards lack the will to oppose disorder."

Rulings
5/1/2009 No one can cast spells or activate abilities between the time a card is named and the time that Meddling Mage's ability starts to work.
5/1/2009 Spells with the chosen name that somehow happen to already be on the stack when Meddling Mage enters the battlefield are not affected by Meddling Mage's ability.
5/1/2009 Although the named card can’t be cast, it can still be put onto the battlefield by a spell or ability (if it’s a permanent card).
5/1/2009 You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can’t be cast. The other half is unaffected.
5/1/2009 If a card with morph is named, that card may still be cast face down. Face-down cards have no names.
5/1/2009 Some cards (such as Isochron Scepter, for example) let you cast a copy of a card. A copy of a card isn’t actually a card, so Meddling Mage can’t stop this.
5/1/2009 Once Meddling Mage leaves the battlefield, the named card can be cast again.

Also on Fandom

Random Wiki