Ad blocker interference detected!
Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers
Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.
Sunburst is a keyword ability.
It is a static ability that means the affected spell will enter the battlefield with an additional number of +1/+1 counters (for creature spells), or charge counters (for non-creature spells) equal to the number of different colors of mana spent to cast it.
Abby has cast a Suntouched Myr and has spent to cast it, it will enter the battlefield with an additional two +1/+1 counters as two different colours of mana were spent to cast it.
Later in the game Abby casts a Pentad Prism for , as this is a non-creature spell, it will enter the battlefield with two charge counters on it, rather than +1/+1 counters.
- 702.43a. Sunburst is a static ability that functions as an object is entering the battlefield from the stack. "Sunburst" means "If this object is entering the battlefield from the stack as a creature, it enters the battlefield with a +1/+1 counter on it for each color of mana spent to cast it. If this object is entering the battlefield from the stack and isn't entering the battlefield as a creature, it enters the battlefield with a charge counter on it for each color of mana spent to cast it."
- 702.43b. Sunburst applies only as the spell is resolving and only if one or more colored mana was spent on its costs. Mana paid for additional or alternative costs applies.
- 702.43c. Sunburst can also be used to set a variable number for another ability. If the keyword is used in this way, it doesn't matter whether the ability is on a creature spell or on a noncreature spell.
- 702.43d. If an object has multiple instances of sunburst, each one works separately.